ATL Skills Toolbox: ATL Skills in the library

Social and emotional learning skills with an emphasis on reducing bullying.
ATL Skills addressed: Self Management Skills=>Affective skills (Eg. Practise strategies to prevent and eliminate bullying) ; Social Skills => Collaboration Skills

Mindsets in the Classroom provides educators with ideas for ways to build a growth mindset school culture, wherein students are challenged to change their thinking about their abilities and potential.
ATL Skills addressed: Self Management Skills => Affective skills (Eg. Perseverence, Self-Motivation)

This book offers practitioners working with 11 to 14 year olds a highly practical education resource for running personal well-being lessons, backed up by scientific research from the field of positive psychology.
ATL Skills addressed: Self Management => Affective skills (Eg. Emotional Management, Resilience) ; Social Skills => Collaboration Skills

This is a program that contains resource materials and strategies to teach young people the social-emotional learning skills that underpin wellbeing and resilience. It includes the following 9 units: Core Values; People Bouncing Back; Courage, Looking on the Bright Side; Emotions; Relationships; Humour; No Bullying; STAR (Success!)
ATL Skills addressed: Self Mangement => Affective Skills (Eg. Resilience, Emotional Management)

This book uses a model of 'mindfulness play' to help children to achieve well-being, an approach designed by the author which encourages children to build awareness of their inner and outer worlds. It includes focus, attention, concentration, mindfulness play and self-calming.
ATL Skills Addressed: Self Management Skills=>Affective SKills => Mindfulness

.

The Oxford Guide to Library Research demonstrates how to do comprehevnsive research on any topic, online and offline. First published in 1993, it has become the gold standard in the field, rpvoding a systematic overview of the best sources, both electronic and print, and the search strategies to find them.
ATLS addressed: Research => Information Literacy.

In every classroom, there are students who need help learning how to learn. This book looks at notetaking, identifying key ideas, research tools, stress management, test anxiety, This book offers easy-to-follow lessons that can correct poor study habits and make learning easier for every student. Each study skill can be taught as a stand-alone activity or blended seamlessly into existing curricula. The lessons follow the same structured format and the authors offer talking points to help you introduce the skill, explain the objective and guide students through the activities. Suggestions on how to summarise the lesson and generalise the skill to other academic areas are provided. The enclosed CD has each lesson plan's overheads, worksheets, homework assignments, articles and other support materials in pdf format.
ATL's addressed: Research, communication, self management.

In "Creating Cultures of Thinking" Richhart explains how creating a culture of thinking is more important to learning than any particular curriculum and he outlines how any school or teacher can accomplish this by leveraging 8 cultural forces: expectations, language, time, modeling, opportunities, routines, interactions, and environment.
ATL's addressed: Thinking skills

In "How to Have Creative Ideas" Edward de Bono outlines 62
different games and exercises, using random words as a provocation to
encourage creativity and lateral thinking.
ATL addressed: Thinking Skills => Critical Thinking.

This ground-breaking collection deeply enriching our understanding of the complex connection between emotion and learning. The work breaks down neuroscience concepts clearly and practically for teachers .Yang argues firstly that emotions are such powerful motivators of learning because they activate brain mechanisms that originally evolved to manage our basic survival; and second, that meaningful thinking and learning are inherently emotional, because we only think deeply about things we care about. Together, these insights suggest that in order to motivate students for academic learning and produce deep understanding, educators must find ways to leverage the emotional aspects of learning.

ATL Skills addressed =>Self-Management Skills =>Affetive Skills.

The Essential Guide to Doing Research is a comprehensive, practical, and engaging guide to understanding and embarking upon social science research. By adopting a clear and accessible approach, Zina O′Leary encourages students to think about, and engage with, every aspect of the research process.
The book stresses that all good research should be seen as a process of constantly assessing one′s work and making decisions about the best possible means for obtaining credible data and results.

Although designed for university studies, teachers will find many concepts to apply to upper middle and senior classrooms.

ATL addressed => Research Skills => Information Literacy

A practical guide to various thinking activities. Includes analytical, critical, creative and caring thinking.
ATL Skills addressed: Thinking Skills

This is a program that contains resource materials and strategies to teach young people the social-emotional learning skills that underpin wellbeing and resilience. It includes the following 9 units: Core Values; People Bouncing Back; Courage, Looking on the Bright Side; Emotions; Relationships; Humour; No Bullying; STAR (Success!)
ATL Skills addressed: Self Mangement => Affective Skills (Eg. Resilience, Emotional Management)

This is a program that contains resource materials and strategies to teach young people the social-emotional learning skills that underpin wellbeing and resilience. It includes the following 9 units: Core Values; People Bouncing Back; Courage, Looking on the Bright Side; Emotions; Relationships; Humour; No BUllying; STAR (Success!)
ATL Skills addressed: Self Mangement => Affective Skills (Eg. Resilience, Emotional Management)

This is a detailed student book which written especially for years 4 and 5 of the MYP. It addresses ATL skill development through looking at various study skills, including metacognition, essay writing, design cycle, scientific skills, presentation skills, approaching assessments, tests and exams, and reflection
ATL Skills addressed: All

This resource provides practical activities to develop a range of thinking processes, including critical, creative and caring thinking. It also provides strategies for integrating different approaches, such as Bloom’s Taxonomy, Gardner’s Multiple Intelligence, Krathwohl’s Taxonomy and Divergent Thinking.
ATL Skills addressed: Thinking Skills

Jennifer Serravallo's Reading Strategies Book has helped hundreds of thousands of teachers and their readers. Now she's doing the same for writing. The Writing Strategies Book provides 300 strategies that support 10 crucial instructional goals. Whether you teach with writing workshop, 6+1 Traits, or by any other means, you'll discover a wealth of ideas for strategies to share with students for whole-group, small-group, or one-to-one instruction.
ATL Skills addressed: Communication.

guide offers an easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to writing essays and extended responses, as well as help with essential writing skills useful in most other assessments. No matter how well you know your subject, you will not get top marks if you cannot communicate your understanding in fluent, well-structured English. This book explains not just what to do, but why!
ATL addressed: Communication

Ideas, Organization, Voice, Word Choice, Sentence Fluency, Conventions, and Presentation. Look at good writing in any genre, and you'll find these traits. Think of them as the fuel that stokes the engine of writing. With this book, teachers will learn how to assess student work for these traits and plan instruction. And they'll be amazed at how the writing in their classroom improves. Includes scoring guides, focus lessons, and activities for teaching each trait. For use with Grades 3 & Up.
ATL addressed: Communication Skills

How teachers can maximise the students use of the Internet for learning. Includes communication, collaboration and group work.
ATL's addressed: Research Skills => Information Literacy Skills.

Reduce the stress of studying and help your child get the most out of school with Help Your Kids with Study Skills. This unique guide is designed to enhance curriculum learning and build confidence in gathering knowledge, recalling from memory, creating study plans, and managing stress. Although written for parents, this book is also valuable for teachers and students. It's clear and visually appealing layout ensure that it is highly accessible.

ATL;s addressed => Self Mangement => Affective Skills; Organisational skills.

Simple for any student to use, this book will take them through strategies for developing purpose and intrinsic motivation, organising their time and resources, planning out their study, developing understanding and long term memory, and dealing with pressure and stress as well as many other important study skills.